8''53''

​影像

​2018

作为一个亚洲留学生,我会通过何种关系介入西方语境构架?当我在世界各地生活、旅行时,我又以何种关系介入各地?在各地不断穿梭的时空转换之中,我陷入了某种幻觉:有些地点、场所唤起了我似曾相识的感觉;某些地方让我感到这不是在旅游,而是回到了我的故乡。究竟人与一个个地点、场所的关系是如何产生的,相互之间又如何加以区分?当我们回到了家乡熟悉的地方,我们是真的回到了故乡还是心中无法返回的那个“乡愁”产生的幻觉?

 

正如当人在一个地方长期生活,他也许会建立起与这片土地的某种依存关系。显然这种关系的深入不是简单的对时间单位进行叠加。当漂泊在外的旅人回归故乡时,内心也许会因熟悉而升起安宁。但其实这种安宁和熟悉是一种幻象,我们已经无法返回。那是过去的某一时间我们与这片土地、场所建立起的关系。究竟是我们介入进而与某地发生的这种关系决定了我们对不同地点的区分,还是因我们对不同地点的预设性的区分决定了我们与它发生的关系。我认为世界各地之间有着超越文化、价值构架以及自然地理类型的异同的某些潜在的联系,而这种联系是仅对于介入者而言的。在我不断思索各地与我的关系时,我更加坚信:这些已经无法返回。这种关系只在过去的我与这个地方相遇的时间中存在。此处和彼处于我而言在某种本质上是无异的。

 

当我作为游客、留学生、归乡人、考察者等不同身份进入并观察这个地点时,我的身份在这些照片之中留下线索。我以不同的身份角色分别与这些地点在不同的时间相遇,并产生了不同的地点与我之间的各自的关联。在我与不同地点的多个关联之中,有着某些潜在的相似。拍摄这一行为则包含了我的以何种身份预设进入这个场域,并意味着带有我某些个人经验性的观察方式的介入。拍摄转化为照片这一过程本身便带有着凝视之意。因此这些不同关联中的潜在之相似,乃是因为作为观察介入者的我。换句话说,这些潜在的相似仅对承受观察介入这一行为的人而成立。

我将这些我个人“凝视”的结果聚集于此。正如海德格尔所言的“让呈放”(vorliegenlassen)或“置放”(legen),使遮蔽之物成为无蔽之物的解蔽过程就是在场者的在场本身。希望这些地点与观察者的这种依存在人们的思索中到场。

​Work In Progress Show

​于英国皇家艺术学院展出

​2019

​蒋涵萱

8'53''

Moving Image

2018

What kind of relationship will I create with the west as an Asian student? As I travel around the world, inhabiting these dislocated locations, I wonder what kind of connections and bonds with these sites of habitation I experience? In the time-space transitions that are constant, ongoing, I am caught in an illusion: some spaces evoke the feeling that I have experienced before; some make me feel that this is not traveling but returning to my hometown. What is the relationship between people and place, and how do they distinguish between each other? When we return to a familiar place in our hometown, do we really return to our hometown or is this an illusion:  the illusion of the “homesickness” that we could not return?

When a person has been living in a place for an extended period of time, he or she may establish a certain dependence on the land. Obviously, the deepening of this relationship is not simply a superposition of time units. When a wandering traveler returns to his hometown, his heart may feel a sense of peace because of a familiarity with the place. But in fact, this kind of tranquility is an illusion, and we are unable to return. This is a relationship we establish with the land and place at some point in the past. Therefore I ask myself, whether this relationship we have with a certain place determines our distinction between different locations, or whether our presupposition of different locations determines our relationship with it. I believe that there are certain potential connections between cultures, values, and natural geographies in the world, and that these connections are only for the traveler. As I continue to think about my relationship with various places, I am even more convinced that these are locations to which I can no longer return. These relationships only existed in the past, moments when I travelled to these places. Here and there for me, in my own sense, it is essentially the same.

 

When I enter and observe this place as a tourist, an international student, or an inspector, l leave clues in these photos of my identity. I went to these locations at various times in different identity roles and created a totally different relationship between them and me. There are some potential similarities among my multiple connections to these locations. The shooting behavior includes my identity as the default entry into the field and implies the involvement of some of my personal empirical observations. So these potential similarities are only established for those who are subject to the observational intervention.

 

In these pictures, I gather results from my personal “gaze”. According to Heidegger  "vorliegenlassen" or "legen", the process of uncovering the obscured object is the presence of the present. It is hoped that these places, and the presence of the observer, will be  zpresent in the viewers imagination.

Work In Progress 

Exhibited in Royal College of Art

2019